My 43rd Blood Donation

My 43rd Blood Donation
 

As for gold medalist of the Olympic Games, Hong Kong has only nourished one which was in the wind surfing contest, but that of mainland, the number of gold medalists had already broken the number of 100 long ago. In addition to other medals, it simply shows that the physical health condition of mainlanders overwhelmed Hongkongers. Hong Kong is just a small city, and people inside are keen in commercial activities more than sports. So it’s quite normal that this city cannot generate world class athletes. Because of the scarcity of land and the tension city life, people here seemed having less sports than those people living in rural areas of mainland.


People in mainland are from various parts, some from rural areas and some also from metropolitans like Hong Kong. Success in the Olympic Games gives people an impression that the health condition of Chinese people have improved a lot and overwhelmed a lot of countries and areas. This is only a superficial statement, or may be just a paradox. Whether the health condition of a country has improved or not, should evaluate on the general public rather than a group of athletes.


When you compare the terms of blood donation in Hong Kong and mainland, you will find the actual case is in reverse. In mainland, the period of blood donation is once every half a year, but in Hong Kong, it’s once every 3 months for man and 4 months for woman. The capacity for donation in China is 400cc or 200cc, where you can choose either. But in Hong Kong, the choice is 450cc and 300cc. So no matter in intervals of in volume, Hong Kong in return overwhelms mainland.


So what the use of generating so many gold medalists ? Does it mean their health condition cannot compare with general citizens of Hong Kong ? It’s because of the concept rather the physical health condition ! In a commercial city like Hong Kong, citizens generally sit in the office and hardly have any chance to do the health exercise. Don’t think after the blood donation you cannot do the health exercises. I still swim in winter, jog up the Victoria Peak, but recently changed to do the Tai Chi practice daily even on the day before and after the donation.


Few people can have the success of those gold medalists in the Olympic Games, but you still can do something to surpass them. You can prove you health condition is better than them. China has 51 gold medals in this year. But I can tell you none of those gold medalists can surpass my record of blood donation. According to their age and intervals and capacity of donation, they cannot surpass a small potato like me ! They are all unable to show up their excellent health condition in such an aspect like me.


This is your tutor Daniel, I hope you can proud of me. My 43rd blood donation has been done on Wednesday Dec 17, 2008.


Follow me ! Follow me !

 


Please scroll on the right hand side of this page,and you will see a column named “Category”. Just click on the item “Blood Donation” and you can see all my related articles concerning this topic.
This article also appears in my other blog of  http://xiaonei.com/danielyue2009 and normally will be renewed on Saturday evening.

 

This entry was posted in Blood Donation. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My 43rd Blood Donation

  1. 甘露为珠--Lillian says:

    Yes , I am really proud of you for your health at such an age and what you have done. But I am not really sure that I would not faint ,so I never try it before. Now I am doing my best to take more exercises to strenghten my immunity, hope that I am healthy enough , then I will follow you.

    Like

  2. 甘露为珠--Lillian says:

    Oh I have to add that : Hi ,Daniel this is Lilly, the name emerged here is my Chinese name which you may not be familiar ,so I have to add it here . Merry Chrismas and Happy New Year to Daniel!

    Like

  3. 静水流深 says:

    you are right,it is still a long way for the mainland to build a civil society,but I am sure that 2008 is a turning point :)

    Like

Leave a comment